Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.
Skip to main content

Deadline for 2019 applications has passed  2020 Competition will open early January

The NIHR School for Primary Care Research has established an undergraduate medical student prize in memory of Professor George Lewith.

The award is open to medical undergraduates at any UK medical school. 

The recipient of the award will receive a certificate and funded attendance and accommodation at the Society of Academic Primary Care Annual Scientific Meeting.

Applicants should submit: 

  1. A summary of a piece of work undertaken in general practice.  This could be an original research paper, a case report, an audit, a conference abstract, etc. This should be no longer than 3000 words (excluding references). 
  2. A written reflective summary of no more than 500 words describing how the applicant led the work and demonstrating their contribution the work.

Applications to be emailed to Dr Georgina Fletcher

News from past years

Keele University's Jacqualyn Walsh-House received highly commended in the 2019 competition. The news piece can be found here:

The 2018 winner, Zuzanna Bien from the University of Oxford's Medical School, wrote a blog about her attendance at SAPC ASM: 

George Lewith prize funds place at SAPC ASM 2018 

Zuzanna's application: Living with COPD: understanding patients' experiences as first step to holistic care

More about George Lewith

George Lewith was Professor of Primary Care at the University of Southampton, and SPCR training lead. George made remarkable contributions to academic primary care and in particular to research in the area of complementary medicine, as a training lead, mentor and supervisor.