Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Deadline for 2020 applications has closed

The NIHR School for Primary Care Research has established an undergraduate medical student prize in memory of Professor George Lewith.

The award is open to medical undergraduates at any UK medical school. 

The prize winner will receive an Amazon voucher of £250

Applicants should submit: 

  1. A summary of a piece of work undertaken in general practice.  This could be an original research paper, a case report, an audit, a conference abstract, etc. This should be no longer than 3000 words (excluding references). 
  2. A written reflective summary of no more than 500 words describing how the applicant led the work and demonstrating their contribution the work.

Applications to be addressed to Dr Georgina Fletcher and sent to the NIHR SPCR mailbox


Health Education England and the Medical Schools Council published ‘By choice – not by chance’ in 2016,as a mechanism to identify and address some of the issues impacting on recruiting medical students to careers in general practice. The report highlights several important issues, including the need for greater collaboration to raise the academic profile of general practice.

A common perception amongst students is that general practice does not offer an academic career pathway and that if you aspire to do research, a hospital specialty is the default position. To be successful academic primary care needs to recruit and retain the brightest medical students, providing opportunities for involvement in research at all stages of their careers. The Integrated Academic Clinical Training pathway is now well established although the number of fellowships ring-fenced for general practice are small and the scheme is not well known about.

To start to address some of these issues, the NIHR SPCR introduced new initiatives to support raising the profile of the discipline and to encourage talented medical students to consider a career in academic primary care.

News from past years

Keele University's Jacqualyn Walsh-House received highly commended in the 2019 competition. The news piece can be found here:

The 2018 winner, Zuzanna Bien from the University of Oxford's Medical School, wrote a blog about her attendance at SAPC ASM: 

George Lewith prize funds place at SAPC ASM 2018 

Zuzanna's application: Living with COPD: understanding patients' experiences as first step to holistic care

More about George Lewith

George Lewith was Professor of Primary Care at the University of Southampton, and SPCR training lead. George made remarkable contributions to academic primary care and in particular to research in the area of complementary medicine, as a training lead, mentor and supervisor.