Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

The National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) Clinical Research Network announced the winners of the research awards run in partnership with the Royal College of General Practitioners (RCGP) this week. These awards, for members of RCGP, recognise research active NHS GPs and general practices that are demonstrating excellence and innovation in delivering NIHR research.

SPCR researcher Dr Elizabeth Morris, from the University of Oxford, received the First5® award and Dr Amrit Takhar of Wansford and Kingscliffe Practice in Peterborough received the practice award.

Applicants were required to outline their contribution to NIHR Clinical Research Network Portfolio studies with particular weight being attached to:

  • the range and number of patients in NIHR Clinical Research Network studies;
  • how patients have been engaged and informed of new opportunities to participate in clinical research;
  • their contribution and innovative methods used in the successful delivery of clinical research studies.

The awards were presented by Dr Nicholas Thomas, Clinical Research Specialty Lead for CRN Thames Valley and South Midlands TVSM and Clinical Research Lead at Clinical Innovation and Research, RCGP, Prof Carolyn Chew-Graham Chair of RCGP Research Paper of the Year and Prof Amanda Howe President-Elect of the RCGP.

News from NIHR: