Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Professors Elaine Hay and Joanne Protheroe, from Keele University, and Peter Bower from the University of Manchester were presented with awards in recognition of their achievements in general practice at the RCGP's spring general meeting on 11 May.


Professor Hay’s accolades are too numerous to list, but she is quite simply an inspirational leader and a great friend to general practice. She truly deserves the RCGP’s highest award of Honorary Fellowship”
- Christian Mallen, SPCR Training Lead and Professor of General Practice at Keele University

Professors Hay and Bower were awarded Honorary Fellowships, the College’s most important award, given for outstanding work towards the objectives of the College. It can be awarded to doctors and non-doctors within the UK.

Continuing to champion primary care and general practice, Professor Hay has developed and prioritised innovative placements and fellowship programmes to support clinicians to gain experience in research.

Professor Joanne Protheroe was awarded the John Fry award, which commemorates the late Dr John Fry, who was perhaps the most prominent academic GP of his generation. It is awarded to an RCGP Member or Fellow of the College who has promoted the discipline of General Practice through research and publication and has actively encouraged people to undertake research as a practicing GP. 

Keele University's Professor of Education in General Practice, Bob McKinley was nominated to present this years ‘William Pickles’ lecture.