Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Ashley Bryce communicated her research on anti-microbial resistance in children with urinary tract infections to Professor Chris Whitty, the Department of Health's Chief Scientific Adviser, at the University of Bristol, on 23 January.

Ab 1

"I was asked by Professor Chris Salisbury, Head of the Centre for Academic Primary Care at Bristol, to present some of the key outcomes from my NIHR SPCR funded PhD to Professor Chris Whitty, during his visit to the University of Bristol on 23rd January 2017. Many senior colleagues within the Faculty of Health Sciences were present.

My presentation focussed on the global prevalence of antibiotic resistance in children’s E. coli urinary tract infections and associations with primary care antibiotic prescribing, which was published in the BMJ in March 2016.

Antimicrobial resistance is a highly topical area of research; Public Health England, NICE and the Department of Health have all placed antimicrobial resistance at the top of their policy agendas and my BMJ paper received substantial media attention worldwide I was delighted to learn that Professor Whitty said he was already very familiar with the paper, and that our findings had caught the attention of the Government Science and Technology Committee review meeting on antimicrobial resistance in November 2016, where our review findings were presented by Professor Paul Cosford, Public Health England Director for Health protection and Medical Director.  I want to take this opportunity to once again thank my co-authors and PhD supervisors without whom the work would not have been possible." 

1. Bryce A, Hay AD, Lane IF, et al. Global prevalence of antibiotic resistance in paediatric urinary tract infections caused by Escherichia coli and association with routine use of antibiotics in primary care: systematic review and meta-analysis. BMJ 2016;352:i939.

 

The press coverage was extensive:

  1. The Guardian http://www.theguardian.com/society/2016/mar/15/antibiotics-becoming-ineffective-at-treating-some-child-infections
  2. The Telegraph http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/nhs/12195011/Half-of-children-resistant-to-the-most-common-antibiotics.html
  3. NHS news http://www.nhs.uk/news/2016/03March/Pages/Common-antibiotic-for-children-ineffective-in-half-of-cases.aspx
  4. The Daily Mail http://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-3494051/Antibiotics-treat-common-childhood-infections-soon-useless-experts-warn-resistance-drugs-grows.html
  5. Net Doctor http://www.netdoctor.co.uk/healthy-living/news/a26259/antibiotics-resistance-in-children-study/
  6. AMR newsletter http://www.newsletter.co.uk/news/health/antibiotic-resistance-high-in-children-1-7279952
  7. Imperial College news http://www3.imperial.ac.uk/newsandeventspggrp/imperialcollege/newssummary/news_15-3-2016-21-18-48
  8. NICE news https://www.nice.org.uk/news/article/antibiotic-resistance-high-among-children-with-urinary-tract-infections
  9. Sunderland Echo http://www.sunderlandecho.com/news/trending/antibiotic-resistance-high-in-children-according-to-new-research-1-7799065
  10. RT news https://www.rt.com/uk/335826-antibiotics-resistance-children-infection/
  11. The Huffington Post http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/entry/antibiotic-resistance-children-urinary-infections_uk_56e6d0a5e4b05c52666ee992
  12. NZ Doctor http://www.nzdoctor.co.nz/news/2016/march-2016/18/warning-on-antibiotics-for-utis-in-children.aspx
  13. Tech Times http://www.techtimes.com/articles/141383/20160316/common-antibiotics-no-longer-effective-at-treating-some-child-infections.htm
  14. University of Bristol news http://bristol.ac.uk/news/2016/march/antibiotic-resistance-children.html
  15. HNGN http://www.hngn.com/articles/189453/20160316/antibiotic-resistance-rampant-children-utis.htm
  16. BT news http://home.bt.com/news/uk-news/study-warns-of-ineffective-antibiotics-amid-high-resistance-rates-11364046315823
  17. Web MD http://www.webmd.com/children/news/20160316/antibiotic-resistance-common-in-kids-urinary-tract-infections
  18. Pulse Headlines http://www.pulseheadlines.com/study-reveals-highly-common-children-resistant-antibiotics/21137/
  19. Parent Herald http://www.parentherald.com/articles/29289/20160317/common-antibiotics-become-increasingly-ineffective-at-treating-childhood-infections.htm
  20. Main News Online http://mainenewsonline.com/content/16037650-large-number-children-develop-resistance-commonly-prescribes
  21. The Way http://www.theway.co.uk/news-10168-half-of-children-are-resistant-to-antibiotics
  22. Health Aim http://www.healthaim.com/antibiotic-resistance-half-children-risk/46259